Date: 02/15/2010 Print This Post


* * *

Confirmed Presenters (And Previous CAMIE Winners) Include Ed Asner,
Peter Jason, Olivia Hussey, Cary Elwes, Jeff Hephner and Jon Voight;
The Emcees Are John Schneider, Leanza Cornett And
Mark Steines; Musical Guests Include Jim Brickman,
Clint Holmes and Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis, Jr.

Once again honoring the virtues of character, integrity and inspirational themes in contemporary films, the 2008 CAMIE AWARDS will be presented at a gala star-studded ceremony on Saturday , May 3 at 8 p.m . at the beautiful, 1,900 seat Wilshire Theatre Beverly Hills . The theatre is located at 8440 Wilshire Blvd .

The awards show this year will be a celebration of ten outstanding films, bringing together everyone involved in these projects to be honored for their incredible work.

The emcees for the 6th annual event are Leanza Cornett , Mark Steines and John Schneider .

The awards are presented to entertaining and uplifting theatrical motion pictures and made-for-television films that provide positive role models for building character, overcoming adversity and strengthening families. The CAMIE AWARD winning theatrical films of 2008 are:  Amazing Grace , Bridge to Terabithia , Miss Potter , Nancy Drew and The Ultimate Gift .

The CAMIE recipients in the made-for-television category are Crossroads: A Story of Forgiveness (Hallmark Hall of Fame), Love’s Unending Legacy (Hallmark Channel), The Note (Hallmark Channel), Pictures of Hollis Woods (Hallmark Hall of Fame) and Saving Sarah Cain (Believe Pictures).

Individual solid bronze CAMIE statues will be presented to those principally responsible for creating each winning film, which may include producers, directors, writers and leading actors.

Most of the confirmed presenters at this year’s ceremony are previous CAMIE AWARD recipients: Ed Asner (“The Christmas Card”), Peter Jason (“The Christmas Card”), Olivia Hussey (“Mother Teresa”), Cary Elwes (“Pope John Paul II”), Dominic Scott Kay (“Charlotte’s Web”), John Newton (“The Christmas Card”), Logan Bartholomew (“Love’s Long Journey”) and pending scheduling, Jon Voight (“Pope John Paul II”) and Jeff Hephner (“The Water is Wide”), plus others. In addition, Ken Howard will be attending the show as a guest presenter.

The CAMIE AWARDS ceremony will include musical performances by best selling pop instrumental pianist Jim Brickman, R&B music legends Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis, Jr. and Clint Holmes, one of the most popular entertainers in Las Vegas .

Since the inception of the CAMIE AWARDS, over forty outstanding inspirational films have been honored, including Charlotte’s Web , Pride & Prejudice , Akeelah and the Bee , March of the Penguins and Radio .

Celebrities and Hollywood insiders have continually expressed their appreciation for an awards show that recognizes the kind of values that CAMIE AWARD winning movies portray. Actress and previous CAMIE AWARD winner Shirley Jones said at the 2007 CAMIE AWARDS, “These kinds of films are so beautiful for me to watch … I am so proud to be a part of what I think we should have more of.”

The CAMIE AWARDS are being produced by the Starfish Television Network (, the country’s only television network featuring inspirational stories and messages presented by America’s most outstanding not for profit organizations. The Executive Producers are Joseph Lake , President of the CAMIE AWARDS production division, and Vice President of Operations Stefanie Cosman.

The CAMIE AWARDS organization was founded by retired pediatrician Dr. Glen Griffin and other concerned parents who recognized the need for wholesome, uplifting entertainment. As they began working on the project, people from different faiths, cultures and backgrounds have become involved.

The global mission of CAMIE Awards, Inc. is to encourage the production and awareness of outstanding, uplifting and entertaining motion pictures with positive role models for building character, overcoming adversity, correcting unwise choices, strengthening families, living moral lives and solving life’s problems with integrity and perseverance.

Tickets to this event are free of charge and the public is more than welcome to attend. Doors open at 7 p.m. For tickets, please contact Stefanie Cosman at